Why are there Seven Colors in the Rainbow?

Why are there Seven Colors in the Rainbow?

Do you want to know about the rainbow? What are some facts about rainbows? If you are looking for the rainbow. We have explained to you the main things about the rainbow- you are looking for right now. 

We all are aware that the rainbow consists of seven colors: Violet, Indigo, Blue, Green, Yellow, Orange & Red. The acronym VIBGYOR is a great way to learn all the colors that are included in the rainbow. But if you remember, we were taught that there are three primary colors: red, blue, and yellow. Further, these three combine to make three secondary colors known as orange, purple & green & other colors from different shades of three colors. So, there are six colors. Now a question arises: does this violet & Indigo come into the rainbow and who made that decision? The answer is once again Isaac Newton.

The Visual Spectrum

When it comes to color theory, then it is not as easy to understand as it seems. We usually mix different colors to get a new color based on a subtractive method, which combines the three primary colors red, blue & yellow. But we see colors in light waves, & light combines colors according to the additive mixing method, which also uses the primary colors red, blue & green.

In the 17th century, Sir Isaac Newton is the one who realized that while breaking white light apart using a prism or even raindrops, we get the visual spectrum of colored light. In the above image, you can see, in the visual spectrum, each color has a shade of its neighbors. So, it is not a set of colors but a spectrum. But Newton decided we should probably break this spectrum up into different chunks so we have easy choices & talk about the colors.

Ancient Greece & the Magic of Seven

Let us trace the roots back to the 6th Century BC & also talk about a person generally known as Pythagoras. We all know that Pythagoras was a number fanatic and also used to apply for numbers in real-world phenomena. He discovered that musical notes which are seven in number could be translated into mathematical equations, & he even had a theory that tells how the Seven heavenly bodies move according to the mathematician patterns. So, if you follow from the start then Pythagoras showed that 7 was a magical or a special number that was somehow disparate from natural phenomena. He further proves it as the sum of the spiritual(3) & the material(4).

During this time, Pythagoras also started a school where his ideas grew into a philosophy called Pythagoreanism, mostly based on mathematics and mysticism. It was one of the reasons Pythagoreanism is great as it influenced some of the most popular thinkers including Plato & Aristotle. And that is one of the reasons why we have seven days in a week, seven deadly sins, seven dwarves, and seven wonders of the world but how did it get applied to the rainbow?

Also Read: How To Create A Successful Logo For An Online Business?

The Circular Route from Pythagoras to Newton

One of the Pythagorean philosophers Philolaus is still the first known person ever to live who posted that Earth revolves around a “central five” rather than everything revolving around the earth. This theory was used by another renowned person Copernicus who is now widely credited for developing the heliocentric theory of planetary motion. And Newton also relied on this theory when creating his theory of gravity.

So, when he started to think about color, he subdivided the spectrum into five colors red, blue, yellow, green & purple but later revised this number to seven while adding orange and indigo as Pythagoras used to believe that there was a connection between color & music. As there are seven natural notes, there have to be seven principal colors. So, this is the most known reason why the rainbow has seven colors.

Thus, the above added are some of the things that you must be knowing about the rainbow.


The Rainbow can help you with a plethora of things. Suppose you are looking for colors for your company logo design. The colors in the rainbow have become its identity- the same as that when you use colors for your company logo. The colors become your company’s identity including the shape. So, you must be sensible to select colors for your logo design. However, you can make things easy. You can hire a professional team for your company that helps you with colors and the best logo designs. The expertise will help you with many things like color selection for your company logo. You can also connect with VerveBranding for expertise in logo designing and branding to have it for your company identity.

VerveBranding can be your one-stop solution for branding and designing because we have market experience and a team of experts who, over the years, have worked on many major and minor projects for all types of industries. We provide designing and branding services at the most affordable price. For services related to mobile app development or web development and online marketing services, check out our subsidiaries, VerveLogic and VerveOnlineMarketing.

Also Read: The Fundamentals of Understanding Color Theory

6 Key Rules To Get an Impactful Logo Design

How Much Should your Logo Design Cost?

(Visited 212 times, 1 visits today)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Keep updated with the latest technology